Password Protected Directories
Find out how to set up a safe and user-only area in your site with password-protected directories.
A password-protected directory or area is a folder that may be accessed only if a username and a password are entered, so no unauthorized people may view its content. This feature could be used for the main folder of a specific Internet site or exclusively for a certain subfolder depending on your requirements. For example, if you are creating a new Internet site and you do not want people to see it before it is ready, you might want to restrict the access to it as a whole, whereas if you need only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you'll be able to password-protect only a particular folder, while the remainder of the website could be seen by everyone. Regardless, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear when the login details the visitor enters aren't right. Even a direct link to a file won't work provided any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Hosting
If you use any of our hosting
plans, you'll be able to create password-protected areas effortlessly even if you have no experience with this kind of matters. We have included a very easy-to-use point-and-click tool into the Hepsia CP, offered with all accounts, so you'll be able to shield any folder within merely seconds. You'll only have to select a domain or a subdomain and the exact folder which must be secured (the primary one or a subfolder), and then to enter the desired username and password that will be used to access the folder in question at some point. Every secured folder shall have padlock icon inside the File Manager section, so you will be able to see immediately what content is protected and what is not. When necessary, you can create a number of sets of login details for exactly the same folder.